16 QMJHL players to take part in 2017 World U-17 Hockey Challenge


Hockey Canada announced on Tuesday the 66 players who will be representing Team Canada at the 2017 World Under-17 Hockey Challenge. Out of those selected, 16 players from the QMJHL were chosen to form the Team Canada roster .

Making up the QMJHL contingent of players will be goaltender Jonathan Lemieux (Val-d’Or), defencemen Justin Barron (Halifax), Jaxon Bellamy (Moncton), Maxence Guénette (Val-d’Or), Christopher Merisier-Ortiz (Baie-Comeau), Noah Laaouan (Cape Breton), and Christopher Inniss (Rimouski), as well as forwards Alexis Lafrenière (Rimouski), Samuel Poulin (Sherbrooke), Bailey Peach (Sherbrooke), Jakob Pelletier (Moncton), Anderson Macdonald (Moncton), Nathan Légaré (Baie-Comeau), Xavier Simoneau (Drummondville), Dawson Mercer (Drummondville), and Alex Beaucage (Rouyn-Noranda).

It is worth noting that a few other players belonging to QMJHL teams (but currently playing in other leagues), were chosen to take part in the tournament. Forwards Brett Budgell (Charlottetown) and Alex Newhook (Halifax), as well as goaltender Tommy Da Silva (Cape Breton), will also be participating for Team Canada.

The 2017 World Under-17 Hockey Challenge will be taking place in Dawson Creek and Fort St. John, BC, from Nov. 5-11.