Perron wins George Parsons Trophy; Meier named to all-star team


A pair of Rouyn-Noranda Huskies players were recognized following the MasterCard Memorial Cup final on Sunday.

Francis Perron, an Ottawa Senators prospect, was given the George Parsons Trophy as tournament Most Sportsmanlike Player.

Timo Meier, a San Jose Sharks prospect, was named to the tournament all-star team.

Other awards saw Mitchell Marner of the London Knights take home the Stafford Smythe Memorial Trophy as Memorial Cup MVP and the Ed Chynoweth Trophy as Memorial Cup leading scorer. Meanwhile, Tyler Parsons of the London Knights was given the Hap Emms Memorial Trophy as the Memorial Cup Outstanding Goaltender.

Other all-star selections were Mitchell Marner of the London Knights, Olli Juolevi of the London Knights, Haydn Fleury of the Red Deer Rebels and Christian Dvorak of the London Knights.

The London Knights captured the MasterCard Memorial Cup title, defeating the Rouyn-Noranda Huskies on Sunday.