Award winners announced Friday night at 2016 TELUS Cup


QUISPAMSIS, N.B. – With the conclusion of the preliminary round Friday evening the 2016 TELUS Cup awards banquet took place later that night. After an unbeaten week at the qplex the Lac St-Louis Lions also dominated the awards with four of the seven winners coming from the Quebec champions.

These individual awards were based on this week’s preliminary round of games and were selected by a group of volunteers who watched the action all week and came together to decide the recipients.

The 2016 TELUS Cup award winners are:
TELUS Most Valuable Player – Mathias Laferrière (Lions du Lac St-Louis)
Top Goaltender – Sandro Silvestre (Lions du Lac St-Louis)
Top Forward – Adam Capannelli (Lions du Lac St-Louis)
Top Defensive Player – Ty Smith (Lloydminster Bobcats)
Most Sportsmanlike Player – Ty Gitzel (Saskatoon Contacts)
Top Scorer – Mathias Laferrière (Lions du Lac St-Louis)
Esso Scholarship – Ryan Porter (Dartmouth Major Midgets)

Noteworthy winners in that list included forward Mathias Laferriere, being the only player to take home two awards, and Bobcats defenceman Ty Smith, a high draft pick from the most recent WHL draft.

The tournaments top scorer and most valuable player, Laferriere was a force to be reckoned with for the Lions this week. In five preliminary games, the Outremont, Quebec native scored eight goals and added five assists for a tournament-leading 13pts. The five-foot-11, 151-pound winger capped off his impressive week with a three-goal performance on Friday afternoon against the host Saint John Vitos.

Ty Smith was the first overall pick in the 2015 Western Hockey League Bantam Draft of the Spokane Chiefs, one of two first-round selections on the Lloydminster roster. A five-foot-11 blueliner with a left-handed shot, Smith posted two goals and two assists while maintaining a high level of discipline with only two penalty minutes in five games.