MasterCard Memorial Cup awards and all-star team announced


Following the MasterCard Memorial Cup final Sunday, the Memorial Cup award winners and all-star team was announced.

Kelowna Rockets forward Leon Draisaitl was given the Stafford Smythe Memorial Trophy as the Memorial Cup most valuable player. Draisaitl, an Edmonton Oilers prospect, recorded four goals and three assists in five games at the tournament. He was also given the Ed Chynoweth Trophy as the Memorial Cup leading scorer.

Oshawa Generals goaltender Ken Appleby was awarded with the Hap Emms Memorial Trophy as the Memorial Cup Outstanding Goaltender. Appleby posted a record of four wins and no losses in four games along with posting a goals-against-average of 2.08 and a save percentage of 0.915.

Rimouski Océanic forward Alexis Loiseau was given the George Parsons Trophy as Memorial Cup Most Sportsmanlike Player. The 20-year-old notched two goals and three assists in four games during the tournament.

The all-star team was also announced on Sunday.

Oshawa’s Appleby, Kelowna’s Madison Bowey, Quebec’s Ryan Graves, Kelowna’s Nick Merkley, and Oshawa’s Michael Dal Colle and Michael McCarron were named to the all-star team.

The Generals captured the 2015 MasterCard Memorial Cup, defeating the Rockets 2-1 in overtime.