Seven QMJHL officials to work MasterCard Memorial Cup


The Canadian Hockey League today announced the officiating team for the 2015 MasterCard Memorial Cup in Quebec City.

Four referees including two from the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League, one from the Ontario Hockey League, and one from the Western Hockey League have all been assigned for the championship.  A crew of five linesmen from the QMJHL have also been selected for the event.

QMJHL referees in the 2015 MasterCard Memorial Cup include Jonathan Alarie of Mirabel, QC, and Oliver Gouin of Laval, QC, both working their first MasterCard Memorial Cup.  Representing the OHL is Michael Cairns of Toronto, ON, also working his first championship, while the WHL’s Brett Iverson of Richmond, BC, has been assigned for the second straight year.

Linesmen selected for the 2015 MasterCard Memorial Cup are Stefan Capano (Trois-Rivieres, QC), Jay Doiron (Dieppe, NB), Sylvain Losier (St-Hubert, QC), Benoit Martineau (Marieville, QC), and Nicolas Piche (St-Jerome, QC).  Losier returns for his fourth MasterCard Memorial Cup on the lines, while this marks the third championship for Capano, and second for Doiron.  Martineau and Piche are both working their first MasterCard Memorial Cup.

Officiating Team:

Referees (seasons):

7 – Oliver Gouin (2)

8 – Jonathan Alarie (3)

24 – Brett Iverson (7)

34 – Michael Cairns (6)

Linesmen (seasons):

44 – Stefan Capano (23)

55 – Jay Doiron (16)

71 – Sylvain Losier (22)

75 – Nicolas Piche (3)

84 – Benoit Martineau (6)

Source: Canadian Hockey League –