Oceanic wins President Cup with double-OT Game 7 victory


The Rimouski Oceanic are the 2015 President Cup Champions.

Michael Joly was the hero scoring at 2:13 of double overtime to lift the Oceanic to a 2-1 win in Game 7 Monday night in Rimouski. It is Rimouski’s first title since 2005 – the Sidney Crosby days.

Joly finished with a goal and an assist to lead the Oceanic to victory.

All the scoring was in the first period before three full scoreless periods.

Rimouski tallied first with Christopher Clapperton’s 12th goal of the playoffs at the 12-minute mark on the power play. Joly and Alexis Loiseau drew assists.

The Remparts tied the game with a power play goal of their own at 15:40 coming from Nikolas Brouillard for his third of the playoffs. Guillaume Gauthier drew the lone assist.

The score would remain the same for the second and third period before going into sudden death overtime.

Remparts’ Matt Murphy got called for a tripping penalty just 1:55 into the second overtime and Joly and the Oceanic took advantage scoring the championship-winning goal. Frédérik Gauthier and Simon Bourque drew assists.

Philippe Desrosiers made 47 saves in the win for Rimouski. Zachary Fucale made 32 saves for the Remparts.

Both teams qualified for the MasterCard Memorial Cup which begins Friday May 22 in Quebec City, Que., with the Remparts playing host to WHL Champion Kelowna Rockets at 7:30 p.m. EST.

On Saturday May 23, the Oceanic play OHL Champion Oshawa Generals at 4:30 p.m. EST.