Six ‘Q’ players to represent Canada at U18 World Championship

qmjhl

Hockey Canada, in partnership with the Canadian Hockey League, announced Thursday the 17 players who will represent the country at the 2015 IIHF Ice Hockey U18 World Championship.

The tournament will take place from April 16-26 in Zug and Lucerne, Switzerland.

Among the players announced to the roster, six are from the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League including Guillaume Brisebois (Acadie-Bathurst), Thomas Chabot (Saint John), Jérémy Roy (Sherbrooke), Nicolas Roy (Chicoutimi), Anthony Beauvillier (Shawinigan) and Nathan Noel (Saint John).

The players picked, born in 1997, were selected by Ryan Jankowski, Hockey Canada’s director of player personnel, with support from head coach Tim Hunter (Calgary, Alta./Moose Jaw, WHL) and assistant coaches Ian Herbers (Jasper, Alta./University of Alberta, CWUAA) and Louis Robitaille (Montreal, Que./Drummondville, QMJHL).

Hockey Canada has invited select under-age players that will travel to Switzerland and play in pre-tournament games to get added experience playing international competition before returning to Canada prior to the start of the world championship.

Among the six under-age players travelling to Switzerland is Cape Breton Screaming Eagles forward Pierre-Luc Dubois.

Team Canada will play a pair of pre-tournament games, both in Zug. The team will face Slovakia on April 13 (1:30 p.m. ET/10:30 a.m. PT) before taking on Germany on April 14 (noon ET/9 a.m. PT).

The Canadians will open the tournament on April 16 against Latvia. The team will also play the Czech Republic, Finland and Switzerland during preliminary round play.

Watch The Q News for coverage of the 2015 IIHF Ice Hockey U18 World Championship.

Share