Team Canada names six QMJHL’ers to Ivan Hlinka Tournament roster



Following the completion of a three-game inter-squad series, Hockey Canada announced its 22-man roster for the 2014 Ivan Hlinka Memorial Tournament.

Goaltender CallumBooth (Québec Remparts), along with defencemen Guillaume Brisebois (Acadie-Bathurst Titan), Nicolas Meloche (Baie-Comeau Drakkar) and Jérémy Roy (Sherbrooke Phoenix) in addition to forwards Anthony Beauvillier (Shawinigan Cataractes) and Nicolas Roy (Chicoutimi Saguenéens) will be the QMJHL representatives at this year’s tournament.

The 2014 edition of the Ivan Hlinka Memorial Tournament is scheduled to take place from Aug. 11-16 with eight teams being split into two groups. Group A consists of co-hosts Czech Republic, Russia, Finland and the United States who will play out of the Alcaplast Arena in Breclav, Czech Republic while Canada, Switzerland, Sweden and co-hosts Slovakia will comprise Group B and play out of the Zimny Stadion in Piestany, Slovakia.

Canada will attempt to win their seventh-straight gold medal and tenth in the past eleven years. Canada has shown outstanding dominance at the Hlinka Tournament winning gold in all but five years since the tournament’s inception in 1991.