Oil Kings join Storm and Knights at MasterCard Memorial Cup

Edmonton_Oil Kings_2014_WHL_Champions0943

[singlepic id=207 w= h= float=none]

For the second time in three years, the Edmonton Oil Kings have advanced to the MasterCard Memorial Cup.

The Oil Kings captured the Ed Chynoweth Cup as WHL Champions after defeating the Portland Winterhawks 4-2 in Game 7 of the 2014 WHL Championship Series on Monday night at Veterans Memorial Coliseum in Portland, OR.

Mitchell Moroz, Curtis Lazar, Mads Eller and Reid Petryk each found the back of the net in the game for Oil Kings.

Brendan Leipsic and Oliver Bjorkstrand replied with goals for Winterhawks.

Tristan Jarry made 32 saves in the win for Edmonton, while Brendan Burke turned aside 29 of 33 shots in the loss for Portland.

Edmonton opens the 2014 MasterCard Memorial Cup on Saturday when they face the Guelph Storm. Game time is 4 p.m. EST.

Watch The Q News for more coverage on the 2014 MasterCard Memorial Cup.