18 former QMJHL players to participate In 2014 IIHF World Championship


[singlepic id=207 w= h= float=none]

The 2014 IIHF World Championship gets underway on Friday and runs to May 25, in Minsk, Belarus.

A total of 18 former Quebec Major Junior Hockey League players will participate in the tournament. Nathan MacKinnon (Halifax/Canada), Alexandre Burrows (Shawinigan/Canada), Jonathan Huberdeau (Saint John/Canada), Martin Reway (Gatineau/Slovakia), Marek Hrivik (Moncton/Slovakia), David Skokan (Rimouski/Slovakia), Morten Madsen (Victoriaville/Denmark), Julien Desrosiers (Rimouski & Drummondville/France), Antoine Roussel (Chicoutimi/France), Antonin Manavian (Gatineau & Acadie-Bathurst/France), Raman Hrabarenka (Cape Breton & Drummondville/Belarus), Felix Schütz (Saint John & Val-d’Or/Germany), Luca Cunti (Rimouski/Switzerland), Dominik Schlumpf (Shawinigan/Switzerland), Tim Ramholt (Cape Breton/Switzerland), Robert Mayer (Saint John/Switzerland) and Giulio Scandella (Halifax and Rouyn-Noranda/Italy) will all represent their respective countries.

This year’s tournament marks the first time Belarus has hosted the event.

For more information on the 2014 IIHF World Championship, visit www.iihf.com.