Five QMJHL players named to Canada’s National Men’s Under-18 Team


[singlepic id=207 w= h= float=none]

Hockey Canada, in partnership with the Canadian Hockey League, announced Wednesday the 23-player roster for Canada’s National Men’s Under-18 Team for the 2014 IIHF Ice Hockey U18 World Championship, taking place April 17-27 in Lappeenranta and Imatra, Finland.

The roster includes three goaltenders, seven defencemen and 13 forwards. In total, 20 players (two goaltenders, five defencemen and 10 forwards) competed at the World Under-17 Hockey Challenge, one in 2012, 18 in 2013 and two in 2014.

A total of five Quebec Major Junior Hockey League players were named to the team.  Julio Billia (Chicoutimi), Mason McDonald (Charlottetown), Alexandre Carrier (Gatineau), Clark Bishop (Cape Breton) and Daniel Audette (Sherbrooke) will each participate in this year’s tournament.

The 2014 IIHF Hockey U18 World Championship opens for Canada on April 17 when it faces Sweden. Canada will also face Germany, Slovakia and Russia in the preliminary round. The semi-finals will take place on April 26 and both medal games will be on April 27.

Full Roster:


Julio Billia – Chicoutimi
Mason McDonald – Charlottetown
Brent Moran – Niagara


Alexandre Carrier – Gatineau
Travis Sanheim – Calgary
Joe Hicketts – Victoria
Haydn Fleury – Red Deer
Ryan Pilon – Brandon
Roland McKeown – Kingston
Ben Thomas – Calgary


Jayce Hawryluk – Brandon
Conner Bleackley – Red Deer
Brendan Perlini – Niagara
John Quenneville – Brandon
Matthew Brazal – Seattle
Travis Konecny – Ottawa
Brayden Point – Moose Jaw
Jake Virtanen – Calgary
Ryan Gropp – Seattle
Clark Bishop – Cape Breton
Daniel Audette – Sherbrooke
Jared McCann – Sault Ste. Marie
Lawson Crouse – Kingston

Watch The Q News for coverage on the 2014 IIHF Ice Hockey U18 World Championship.