Canada beats Russia, gets closer to Gold


Canada has returned to its good habits from the beginning of the tournament, scoring quickly and giving very little shots on goal, which greatly facilitated the work of the defensive unit. Canada will play in the finals tomorrow.


Setting the pace early in the game

Since the tournament began, Canada had the habit of scoring early in the first period. Today, they have improved their previous record, scoring just 39 seconds after the puck dropped. The first goal was scored by Spencer Watson, while Brayden Point and Daniel Audette from the Phoenix got the assists. Then, 39 seconds before the end of the first frame, Sam Bennett scores a goal with the man advantage, helped by Spencer Watson and Michael Dal Colle. This is Watson’s sixth point in the tournament.

The period then ended 2-0 for Canada. The shots were in favor of the team in white and red, 10-5.


A Russian goal, but a second period in favor of Canada

Canada dominates outrageously the complete period, but at 15:01, the Russian Damir Sharipzyanov scored on Julio Billia, with the lone assist goes to Radel Fazleyev. Russia failed to take advantage of its momentum, and Canada dominates outrageously the remaining period. Shots ended 15-5 in the second period and Canada returned to the locker room ahead 2-1.


Nailing the coffin of the Russians

The only offensive event in the third period was the empty net goal by forward Clark Bishop of the Cape Breton Screaming Eagles. Russia takes three shots on goal as Canada managed to land eight.

The match ends so by a score of 3-1. Canada has shut down the Russian attack almost throughout the game, allowing just 13 shots and taking a total of 33.


Other notes

– Sherbrooke Phoenix defenseman, Carl Neill, has not picked up any points. Daniel Audette picked up an assist on the first goal.

– Canada scored once on five power plays, while killing all his seven penalties.

– The next game is tomorrow’s gold medal match. Julio Billia be in nets for Canada. He will face either the Czech Republic or the United States, depending on the results of the other semifinals.